Man of Guts (Gutsman’s song) – Inspired by Mega Man music & The Megas

Image

I’ve enjoyed the songs that the Mega Man-themed group The Megas have written about the Mega Man mythology. 

(I have unfortunately not freed up the funds to get their latest History Repeating: Red album, but I most certainly will get it–that History Repeating: Blue album was spectacular, as was the Fly On A Dog single.  But I digress.) 

As I listened to their “Megatainment” album–a collaboration they did with Entertainment System–it occurred to me that it was awfully short.  I wondered why there were no songs for Gutsman or Cutman.  So I just decided to write one of my own, inspired by the Gutsman stage music and by the incredible body of work produced by The Megas.  In case you don’t know how that sounds:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOZgd8LA33A

So, here goes:

 

I was built to lift

This is my great gift

But now I have a mind

To live beyond these mines

Dr. Wily

Chose to confide in me

That it was my destiny

To destroy all things

To lift the robot race

Above the place of slaves

We will not serve humans

We deserve our own plans

 

I’m a Man of Guts

And I am strong enough

I will shake and toss

Humans are a lost cause

I’m a Man of Guts

So are you strong enough?

When I shake and toss

You’ll suffer your next loss

 

So enter my robot lair

If you so foolishly dare

The humans don’t even care

If robots feel pain there

I have seen them hurt

And give all their worth

Seen them scream and curse

The whole universe

I will end all men

And we’ll begin again

I’ll lift a robot sun

Of a new day begun

 

I’m a Man of Guts

And I am strong enough

I will shake and toss

Humans are a lost cause

I’m a Man of Guts

So are you strong enough?

When I shake and toss

You’ll suffer your next loss

 

And now that we rise up

The robots stand above

We’ll join hands to crush

Every man we touch

 

I’m a Man of Guts

And I am strong enough

I will shake and toss

Humans are a lost cause

I’m a Man of Guts

So are you strong enough?

When I shake and toss

Mega Man, you’re lost!

I’m Gutsman!

Leave a Reply

