An Appointment With You (A Song)

There’s something hurting deep inside
It’s the emptiness of being all alone
Please just take a look into my eyes
I can’t seem to find a way to carry on
If you could listen to my heartbeat
You might hear desperate cries for every time it breaks
Is there something you can prescribe for me?
If you have the time, then please don’t hesitate

Tell me what to do
And believe me, I will follow through
But tell me this, too:
What does a man have to do
To get an appointment with you?

Can you tell me what’s wrong with me?
When I see your smile I can’t turn away
In the waiting room all I see
Is the very reason my heart tells me to stay
Could there be a cure for what I feel?
Are these just the symptoms of another broken heart?
Could someone so lovely be real?
Or maybe just an angel who couldn’t find her harp?

Tell me what to do
And believe me, I will follow through
But tell me this, too:
What does a man have to do
To get an appointment with you?

Maybe if you have some free time
I wonder could you heal me inside?
Or is this a break that can’t be bandaged up?
I’m sure your time is valuable, too
But should I be without you?
Could you spare a time to share with me your love?
It could be an hour or two–
Just a chance to talk to you
Do you have sweet words to help me get through?
Or maybe if you don’t mind
We could share a lifetime
Unless you have more urgent things to do

Tell me what to do
And believe me, I will follow through
But tell me this, too:
What does a man have to do
To get an appointment with you?

–This song was inspired by a beautiful young woman who worked at the doctor’s office I used to go to years ago. I never got up the courage to give the song to her, but I always liked it. So, why not put it on the Internet, right?

Leave a Reply

