My Paradise (A Song)

Deeply in love
With you here
Can’t get enough
Of you near
There in your eyes
Is my paradise
Lost in your eyes
Lost in your smile
Your smile

Feelings that I
Never knew
Really inside
I loved you
Ours is a story
Yet to unfold
Ours is a love
Yet to be told
Don’t disappear
Like a dream
Now that you’re here
I believe
I can be happy
And make you the same
Call out my name
With me forever stay

Deeply in love
With you here
Can’t get enough
Of you near
There in your eyes
Is my paradise
Lost in your eyes
Lost in your smile
Your smile

Days can be years
If you need
I’ll wipe your tears
So you’ll see
Love is forever
When we’re together
Here, safe and warm
As if reborn
Living a life
Very new
Giving my wife
My ‘I do’
Joined like the stars are
Embedded in our hearts
So far beyond
All I could want
So far

Deeply in love
With you here
Can’t get enough
Of you near
There in your eyes
Is my paradise
Lost in your eyes
Lost in your smile
Your smile

And as we love
We will grow
Bright as the sun
We will glow
Pain’s temporary
Hurts can be buried
Our love is pure
It will endure
For sure

Deeply in love
With you here
Can’t get enough
Of you near
There in your eyes
Is my paradise
Lost in your eyes
Lost in your smile
Your smile

Commentary:

I was inspired to write this by music from a Star Trek (Original Series, Season 1) episode called “This Side of Paradise”, where Spock falls in love. (Apparently it was used in more than one episode, the other one being “Shore Leave”, which I didn’t realize until I read about it…but I digress.) It was such a beautiful melody that I thought it’d be great if it was a song, too. Link to the music from ‘Trek’:

Leave a Reply

