A Lady on the Train (A Song)

Could it be about
The way you smell?
Is it really real
The way I felt?
By coincidence
This is our car
Tell me, what’s your name?
Will you go far?
Just a passing thought
Of me and you
But there is nothing
I am going to do


A lady on the train
Captured my heart
It was just a glance
I let it go
Not a source of pain
She was a thought
A meeting that was chance
Or so I’m told


If maybe you don’t mind
I’ll try to breathe
Something about women
I just need
Of all the creations
They’re the prize
You only understand
When you feel this high
The high that comes from
Getting just one glance
They’ll make the hardest heart
Plan his romance


A lady on the train
Captured my heart
It was just a glance
I let it go
Not a source of pain
She was a thought
A meeting that was chance
Or so I’m told


The doors will open up
And she will leave
But that was just enough
To make me believe
Women have a gift
That’s all their own
I think I’ll end up with one
I am sold


A lady on the train
Captured my heart
It was just a glance
I let it go
Not a source of pain
She was a thought
A meeting that was chance
Or so I’m told


Commentary:

This is an old song (years before I got married), based on a real event.  This was one day when I was riding home on the subway.  I can recall this amazing perfume and this breathtaking woman sitting right in front of me, and I just couldn’t take my eyes off her.  Of course I did take my eyes off her (1) so I could write the song, and (2) so I didn’t creep her out by staring too hard.  There are just some people who have that effect on you, and you can’t help but feel it.  Hormones.  Truly, they are the Bane to my Batman.  I think I’ll post some more old stuff.  I’m just in a mood for it.  I’ve written some new raps, though–not sure if I’ll post all of them.  One’s about my kids, one’s about bed bugs (who writes a rap about bed bugs?), and another is about an imaginary ideal woman.  The third, I’m not so sure I’ll post, but hey, like two people are actually reading this, and I’m making them bored as it is if they’re reading this commentary, so what does it matter?  Alright, enough chatter.  Until next time.

Leave a Reply

