In My Humble Opinion (A Song)

I can be your partner
Your best friend
I can feel your heart
Breaking within
Let me close my wings
Around you tight
Open up your dreams
Let me inside


I know that I
Want you here next to me
It’s alright, you know
It’s destiny
Let our life
Have a new day begun
It’s our time
In my humble opinion


Side by side we fly
Like symphony
And if you have to cry
Rely on me
I always hoped we would
End up this close
Odd how love can work
And make it so


I know that I
Want you here next to me
It’s alright, you know
It’s destiny
Let our life
Have a new day begun
It’s our time
In my humble opinion


So let’s slow dance our joy
This new ballet
Our romance, oh boy
Is here to stay
You will never have to
Rescue me
I’m your better half
I’ll give you the best of me


I know that I
Want you here next to me
It’s alright, you know
It’s destiny
Let our life
Have a new day begun
It’s our time
In my humble opinion


Commentary:

This song is inspired by a heroine I called “Pinion”, who was to work alongside the hero in my envisioned-but-never-finished superhero story called “The Tack” (go ahead, laugh, but I rather liked it).  The idea was for her to be sort of in love with him, and him with her, but he never pursues her for various reasons.  They’re both vigilantes of a sort, and she saves him at some point, but he doesn’t learn her identity until later.  I wanted her to have a smooth jazz kind of theme musically, and this song is intended to have that kind of vibe.

Leave a Reply

