Panic Attack (A Rap)

I’ve been reading the news
It’s got me scared
And wondering when terror
Will find me unprepared
I think the fear
Is worse than the actual
And even worse than that
Is not knowing what’s factual
I see a dude in camo
Fears skyrocket
Mind racing, wondering
What he’s got in his pockets
Should I have told him
He turned me into Gollum
A riddle in the dark
With no answer spoken?
I’m afraid of
The path we’ve chosen
I’m afraid of
The wrath that claims people’s focus
I walked a long road
To get there
And now upon arriving
I’m scared I’ll meet death there
Because some dude
Read it on the Internet
He becomes convinced
That the killing isn’t finished yet
Misinformation
Invites participation
Strange how murder
Is free of discrimination
Scared to ride the bus
Or go to movies
Because of some nut
Who might decide to shoot me
Sure you can ban it
But you don’t understand that
A killer will kill
With whatever he fills his hand with
Maybe it’s safer to
Cut their bandwidth
Remove anything that
They can cut their hands with
Maybe not,
With these days, I figure
Someone’ll try to kill you
With some child-safe scissors

I’ve got a panic attack
If I go ahead, I’m dead
I’m scared to look back
I’ve got a panic attack
I’d rather stay in bed
Than to battle with that
I’ve got a panic attack
If I go ahead, I’m dead
I’m scared to look back
I’ve got a panic attack
I’m really not prepared
To be handling that

I dread getting up
And dealing with the work week
Scared someone in the office
Wants to hurt me
I’m scared to drink the water
When I’m thirsty
And scared someone poisoned
The food or the dessert treats
I’m scared my ex
Might kill my kids
And scared the Internet
Might tell her where I live
With all these phobias
No hope for utopia
I’m like a District Tribute
At the Cornucopia
So will I be killed
For your amusement,
Or maybe for the will
Of a group that I’m refusing?
And with so many truths
It’s just confusing
Everything I think I can prove
Can’t really prove it
People think that
I’m crazy or I’m stupid
I was even scared
When I was struck by cupid
I’m often scared
To even go to sleep
Wondering if I’ll become
Who I’ve hoped to be
And hopefully
The fates will maybe vote for me
And I won’t be pulled over
By the faux police
Or run over
When I cross the street
Or blown up
When the stove maybe caused a leak
Or in fulfillment
Of a prophecy
Maybe God will kill me–
That’s his policy

I’ve got a panic attack
If I go ahead, I’m dead
I’m scared to look back
I’ve got a panic attack
I’d rather stay in bed
Than to battle with that
I’ve got a panic attack
If I go ahead, I’m dead
I’m scared to look back
I’ve got a panic attack
I’m really not prepared
To be handling that

I don’t know how
People believe anything
Whatever you believe
It creates some new enemies
And it makes me feel
Scared to breathe
Is it oxygen or carbon dioxide
I’ll receive?
And maybe I’m scared
My wife will leave
I often feel like
She could do so rightfully
And often the
Self-righteous’ll be
The very same people
Who have rifles, see?
I no longer trust
Privacy
And I get scared whenever
Folks are nice to me
And when I wrote
Those Eyes of Yours
I was scared that people
Would think I’m disloyal
But I wrote it
Because I was scared
Of the feeling that I felt
That shouldn’t exist in there
I’m almost scared
To put it down on paper
Because I think someone else’ll
Find it later
So do you mind
If I stay here?
Maybe my fears won’t find me
If I lay here
I’m afraid of the crimes
Every day here
And I’m afraid I’m losing my mind
The more I wait here
When days are better
And things are more together
Maybe I’ll feel that it’s safe–
Or maybe never

I’ve got a panic attack
If I go ahead, I’m dead
I’m scared to look back
I’ve got a panic attack
I’d rather stay in bed
Than to battle with that
I’ve got a panic attack
If I go ahead, I’m dead
I’m scared to look back
I’ve got a panic attack
I’m really not prepared
To be handling that

Leave a Reply

