Like a Monday in September (A Song)

It’s an echo
Can you hear it reverberating?
It tells me to let go
But I ignore the berating
You were my love
I remember you exactly as you are to me
Innocent like a dove
The sweet girl you tried hard to be
But you were put out like an ember

It’s causing me pain and
It’s like a Monday in September
It’s just like a day
I don’t want to replay and remember
It might seem mundane, but
It’s like a Monday in September

It’s the morning
And I can see the sun rise in the east
It’s also the mourning
For what we had, that is now deceased
I copy the letters
From me to you, and from you to me
It doesn’t get better
For me or you, or for you and me
‘Cause the wound is so tender

It’s causing me pain and
It’s like a Monday in September
It’s just like a day
I don’t want to replay and remember
It might seem mundane, but
It’s like a Monday in September

I haven’t gotten over it
‘Cause I haven’t gotten it over with
And I’ve got to make you live
‘Cause I don’t want to forget
So I keep trying to rekindle

It’s causing me pain and
It’s like a Monday in September
It’s just like a day
I don’t want to replay and remember
It might seem mundane, but
It’s like a Monday in September

Leave a Reply

