Love and Death (A Song)

We’re in an age of
Love and death
Two edges of
The very same sword
It pierces armor
And your garments
It can save you
Or be painful
It’s lurking just around the corner
I should warn you
There it’s waiting for your guard
To fall
At first the raindrop the harbinger
Of the storm
You think you’re safe and suddenly
You’re gone

Love is for you
And death is for me
With or without you
I can’t seem to breathe
Love is for you
Until the last breath of me
What I would not do to
Give you what’s left of me

Have you tamed me
Or enslaved me?
I don’t know anymore
And I don’t think I care
Your love is like
An ocean breaking
Against the stony shores
Just sweep me up
And take me with you there
But then I look around the corner
I wasn’t going to
You steal my heart away
And then you’re gone
And only pain remains where once
My heart was warm for you
I watch it bleed away
Until it’s cold

Love is for you
And death is for me
With or without you
I can’t seem to breathe
Love is for you
Until the last breath of me
What I would not do to
Give you what’s left of me

Killed by your touch
And saved by your tenderness
Can’t get enough
Yet slain by the end of it
What would you give
If your love could bring for me
A chance to live
To truly be able to breathe?

Love is for you
And death is for me
With or without you
I can’t seem to breathe
Love is for you
Until the last breath of me
What I would not do to
Give you what’s left of me

Leave a Reply

