Raps of the Christopherian Realm #23 (A Sci-Fi Rap, Continued…)

“Not so fast,” Christoph said,
“My friend.
Didn’t you think I would
Be there at the end?
You don’t get to
Exit our game
By stabbing yourself
With the Unholy Blade.
But I’ll admit–for a twit,
You’re clever.
Nevertheless, when we end,
We’ll end together.
After all, what is peace
Without violence?
Noise without silence?
And what is obedience, then,
Without defiance?
And there’s a future
Where we share an alliance.
If one of us is gone,
Then how could we ever find it?
If there is a future
We should never change
It’s the one where you and I
Are brothers. Isn’t it strange?
So killing you would be a
Change of heart.
I’d rather watch your kingdom
Tearing itself apart.
You’ve never faced a threat
Like this before–
Your very own people
Engaged in civil war.
You always thought
That was fought against me,
But the mirror itself
Has become your true enemy.
So crawl home, friend.
Lick your wounds.
I assure you, we will meet again–
And quite soon.”

He turned to Thea and said,
“Excellent work.
And now it is as promised–
The victory was deserved.
Who would have thought
I was right?
I never imagined
He’d fall for you twice.
The future must be
A really bad life.
I’ve seen glimpses of it
And it doesn’t seem right.
And there’s a truth in all this–
I’m not a devil.
I’m only looking for
An opponent who’s on my level.
So now, at last,
Your people are safe.
And for it all, Empress,
They’ll have you to thank.”
Thea said, “Then all the losses
Have been worth it.
I thank you for showing me truth–
Now it is certain.
You can count on the Theans
For their loyalty
So long as you agree
You will never be destroying me.
They won’t accept it
My people will not expect it
But I trust we’ll be secrue
As a Netherworld protectorate.”
“A protectorate? No.
You’re independent.
The Entity is yours–
You alone must defend it.
You could end this war
With less bloodshed.
Reunite the kingdom
And see no more of your brothers dead.
So for now,
I leave you in peace.
I hope that now you
Will give your people relief.”

And so Christoph departed
And Chris kept on crawling
His battered body wheezed
But he hadn’t yet fallen
And there was someone else
He could call in
No one else prepared for this
Except Resistance Regiment
He reached over
And tapped his shoulders
Keyed in a special code
And it was over
Thea said, “And now
There’s nothing left of you.
Nothing at all, I suppose–
Except residue.
So keep crawling, Chris,
As you’re meant to do.
If you ever fight me again,
I’ll put an end to you.”

And then Christopher
Struggled to his feet
His uniform dusty and
His shame at his defeat
Consumed his features
For failure was a teacher
To even the wisest
And most powerful of creatures
And with every slow step
He walked
As he realized again that
This loss was his fault
He felt like he needed
To be slapped
For leading his people into
The same trap
So he would need to disappear
For awhile
He headed to the Barren Lands
To live out his exile
Little did he know
That this was a pilgrimage
Fraught with the dangers
Of foes quite villainous
But beyond the barren
Was survival
And strength that he needed
To confront all his rivals
For his spirit was
In need of revival
And eating humble pie
Would await all the prideful
He walked on
His face wet with tears
He remembered how to cry
After all these years
But he remembered
How to love again
And grimly said,
“I’m never giving up again.
My footsteps have led me here
So it is here I will stand
And battle every fear.
I will never submit
To being conquered.
Today, evil won–
But good will be stronger.
And I have to hold on
A little longer
On the other side of war
There is peace over yonder.”
And so a great journey
Starts anew
There is hope in whatever
Christopher’s about to do…

Leave a Reply

