See Through

I am smiling
When I see you
Look my way
I am trying
Not to dream you’d
Want to stay
I am yearning
For a love like
In my dreams
I am hurting
‘Cause my love life’s
Not likely
Yet I’m hoping
That you notice me
Like I do you
‘Cause I’m lonely
And not knowing
What I can do

When I see you
Can you see through
To my thoughts?
But I need you
Not to see through
Me at all
‘Cause I don’t want a broken heart

I saw you
Just last night and
I pretended
Like I’d never
Met you in life
But I can’t win
‘Cause I’d love to
Get to know you
But I can’t
I’ve had enough to
See what lovers do
And understand
That the one you
Choose to run to
Breaks your heart
But like this, I can
From a distance
Spare my loss

When I see you
Can you see through
To my thoughts?
But I need you
Not to see through
Me at all
‘Cause I don’t want a broken heart

And yet I’d love to
Learn to love you
Perhaps someday
And I’m dreaming
Of an evening
In a cafe
And you’d smile at me
For awhile at least
And I’d feel like
Maybe finally
Love won’t lie to me
That would be nice–
But that just isn’t from real life

When I see you
Can you see through
To my thoughts?
But I need you
Not to see through
Me at all
‘Cause I don’t want a broken heart
When I see you
Can you see through
To my thoughts?
But I need you
Not to see through
Me at all
‘Cause I don’t want a broken heart

Leave a Reply

