Sick of It

Some people want to
Take the guns and bury them
Others want the right to
Walk around and carry them
I only wish that
The dead raised their voices
To cry out and get us
Up above all the noises
And make us give some thought
To our choices
And not let the evil
That lives in men destroy this
I’m getting sick of the pain
A little scared too
Many of the same type
Of things to compare to
From Orlando to Charleston
To Paris
And people still debating
Whether we should call ’em terrorists
When I read the replies
It’s embarrassing
If only the tears in our eyes
Could be medicine
How many more
Will be taken from us
Until we get to the point
We don’t know who to trust?
I’m at the point
Where I dive off the bus
‘Cause I don’t want to be
The one to die on the bus
If you just want to live
It takes guts
But we’ve got more to give
To get out of this rut
We can choose to
Keep our eyes shut
Or open them wide
Try to find hearts to touch

Here we are again
In the thick of it
Here at the end again
And I’m sick of it
And if it is the end
Then be quick with it
It doesn’t make sense
And I’m getting sick of it

We can blame
What we want to blame
Say what we want to say
But in the end it’s all done today
You can blame their faith
Or blame the gunplay
Does it really matter?
It only ends in one way
Might be we’ll figure out
Someday
For now we still roam about
Just like a runaway
People screaming out
To bring death to me
But sitting there silent
On the train next to me
Was it worth it?
Just to have a destiny?
We could have been neighbors
They’re scraping up what’s left of me
You can’t expect
To reason with these people
True believers, mentally ill
Or just evil?
At this point we’ve had
Enough sequels
Any more and there won’t be
Enough people
I classify us
An endangered species
Experts at self-extinction
Deep beneath these
My mistake
We’re the Planet of the Apes
We’d rather blow it up
Than actually save the race

Here we are again
In the thick of it
Here at the end again
And I’m sick of it
And if it is the end
Then be quick with it
It doesn’t make sense
And I’m getting sick of it

These lawmakers
Have armed protection
The rest of us don’t
So who’s there to protect us?
I would rather gather all guns
And burn ’em
Or make sure the people who hold them
Really earned ’em
Because the cat is out of the bag
I figure
We have to know people
Before they pull the trigger
Because a bullet is a
One-way trip
Another drink from the cup
That’s a one-way sip
The taste of blood
And it fills the lust of the media
Too many killers
In my encyclopedia
Used to be the person
We thought was bravest
Was the one who died
For our sakes to save us
But I don’t see a hint
Of a savior
All I see is all too human
Sick behavior
So you know what?
Just do me a favor
Stop killing people
And you can save your prayers
Or not
This is all that we’ve got
We got here
By means of the gun–have you forgotten?
You can stuff
Your ears up with cotton
Or offer up words
To your own private sovereign
But in the end
It doesn’t help to solve it
More dead people
And all the same problems

Here we are again
In the thick of it
Here at the end again
And I’m sick of it
And if it is the end
Then be quick with it
It doesn’t make sense
And I’m getting sick of it

I had to write out
The pain and the anguish
Do you get it?
Do we speak the same language?
Or am I just
Another person to aim at?
Another life gone and
Not worth it to save that
War was given to us
Then we gave back
We blew up their home
And now they’re sending hate back
They can export it
Just like a virus
We have been weighed and measured
Before Cyrus
And we will hear
An avalanche of sirens
We will shed tears
And be buried by violence
And anyone who speaks out
Is silenced
War and the Grim Reaper
Have an alliance
And so in turn
We watch the world burn
But it was no accident
We carried the matches in
And in time
There will be no pardon
The universe cares not
If we engage in arson
So you want to go there?
Be my guest
I’ll pull up a chair
And watch what comes next
Consider this
My formal protest
In the hopes that we all
Learn some self-respect

Here we are again
In the thick of it
Here at the end again
And I’m sick of it
And if it is the end
Then be quick with it
It doesn’t make sense
And I’m getting sick of it

Back to back
It’s police shootings
Protests and beef
Lootings
What in the world
Are people doing?
I can’t understand the pain
As it undermines my brain
As it’s all insane
And never changes
And you know the thing
That’s the strangest?
I feel like they’re pulling the strings
Just to enrage us
And what’s to stop them
From rolling up slow
And driving a robot bomb
Up to our homes?
I guess it’s war
And anything goes
I thought we were different
I was wrong, I suppose
I’m feeling sad for
The boys in blue
And I’m mad that a father
Won’t see his kids grow, too
The fact is
What’s new about suffering?
People killing people
Every day like nothing?
Out here the streets are real
There’s no bluffing
Beat you in the face
Till you’re showing all your stuffing
And starvation still
In all nations
Walls being built
Out of fear of immigration
And vile hatred
From gods and from men
No hesitation
‘Bout killing off your kindred
Well instead
Of crossing off the been dead
I wish that
We’d call up what has been said
Those who take the sword
Will perish by it
And we can’t afford
To have our cherished dying
But in the end
My pen will do my crying
Hold onto hope
But can’t from lack of trying
I could say I believe
But I’d be lying
Nothing here for me
But sadness and sighing

Here we are again
In the thick of it
Here at the end again
And I’m sick of it
And if it is the end
Then be quick with it
It doesn’t make sense
And I’m getting sick of it

Leave a Reply

