Monday

Showing up to work
Like an abused kid–
Hungry and tired
And feeling kind of useless
Don’t care at all
But let’s do this
Oh wait, I can’t
I’m still kind of clueless
‘Cause I was waiting
For the bus, see
And a knee in my side’s
What I got from the bus seat
Not sure who to trust–we
Got cops on the side
Of the people killing us,
Oui?
What do I want to do?
Nothing
The boss walking by thinks
That I’m office stuffing
Got some pills from the doc
And I’m nauseated
Even when I eat
All I feel is a stomach aching
Memories coming back
From the past
Of a girl who rejected me
That made me sad
Back then, I guess
That made me mad
Made me write things that
I’d rather take back
Oh, no, I rhymed back twice
Seems about right
Now I’m lacking rhymes–nice
Don’t even know what Monday’s
Named after
Perhaps it’s the god of slavery
And captives

Oh, come on–
It’s not the crack of dawn
I think like an hour ago
Should’ve been gone
But I didn’t really
Sleep right
Well, at least the bed bugs
Managed to eat right
That’s the bane
Of the weeknight
And I envy the people
Lucky enough to sleep tight
I take the steamer
And I kill them
The bugs migrate
From the ceiling like pilgrims
Too many dishes in the sink
But I think
I just cleaned it out
A day ago or something
School hasn’t even
Started yet
So I haven’t even seen
The extent of how hard it gets
The bills are paid
And I’m near broke
When I see how fast
The cash goes, it’s a real joke
At least I haven’t been killed, though
I haven’t had time
To draw up my will, so
I don’t know who would get
All my stuff
But then, I don’t care
If I’m pushing flowers up
Hmm, maybe
That one was kind of morose
I’ve got food and shelter
And plenty of clothes
Even got a few
Television shows
Some still sitting in plastic
Kind of tragic
But I promise I won’t
Stay up laughing
It’s midnight again?
But how did that happen?

Dog tired
Can’t wait to retire
But after that afraid
I’m waiting to expire
Every day
Expecting to be fired
And for every new task
Another two required
Problem is
Can’t afford to get home
The fees for the bus, man
They crush like big loans
You go for broke
When you do the right thing
Holding onto hope
In these days is frightening
I take solace in my writing
But the words can’t fill
The hole there inside me
My wife says I’m about
Broken promises
Someone so small
With a void so bottomless
I could write up
A problem list
From the rent going up
To me asking if God exists
And if he’d even
Acknowledge it
I’m missing old friends
From the days of colleges
Wondering if the one
Passed me by
Added to the pile
With yet another lie
Fall into bed
Without even saying ‘good night’
Dreams in my head
With the echoes of a past life
Won’t be long
Till I hit the Snooze button
I think I hit it twice
But it always seems to do nothing
Don’t use no double negatives
On Monday
That would mean that two bad things
Happened in one day

Leave a Reply

