I’m Waiting for the Day

Here I am
Standing in a place I’ve always been
No special plans
Just waiting for my loneliness to end
If you can find
The narrow road that leads you back to me
I’ve got the time
My life is only half what it could be
I’m waiting for the day when I can see

I’m waiting for the day
When I can see your face
I’m waiting for the day
When I feel your embrace
And it doesn’t matter what they say
The one I want
Is always worth the wait
So I stay
I’m waiting for the day

Years go by
But it seems as if you were here yesterday
And still I cry
Life makes it so we can’t have our way
What I lost
Is infinitely more than what I gained
And now all I’ve got
Are sad reminders of my endless pain
If only I could hear you call my name

I’m waiting for the day
When I can see your face
I’m waiting for the day
When I feel your embrace
And it doesn’t matter what they say
The one I want
Is always worth the wait
So I stay
I’m waiting for the day

My crying eyes
Still watch for you upon the salty shore
Until the time
When they see you come walking through my door
And even if it takes a lifetime
I know that I will see your face
If it takes until the moon dies
I will patiently await
And if it should take forever
I’ll wait forever and a day
Use up every grain of the sands of time
If only you’d come back to me
Throw away all other plans of mine
Because that’s how much you mean to me

I’m waiting for the day
When I can see your face
I’m waiting for the day
When I feel your embrace
And it doesn’t matter what they say
The one I love
Is always worth the wait
Here I stay
I’m waiting for the day

Leave a Reply

