We’ll Never Leave You Behind Us

Now you’re sitting in an empty office
All your troubles and your cares forgotten
Pieces of you scattered
And our hearts still shattered
I know that I’ll be thinking of you often
Kind of hoping the blow was softened
If you didn’t think you mattered
You should see all the faces saddened

You might be gone but
You’ll still be here
You might be gone but
You’re needed here
I think it’s wrong but
The things we fear
They tend to find us
But we’ll never leave you behind us

I hope you got a just reward
For all those days you sat here bored
The time that’s gone can’t be restored
If only we’d had a little more
I wish that we knew that before
We’re all like casualties of war
A fight that no one wins
All our beginnings meet the end, the end

You might be gone but
You’ll still be here
You might be gone but
You’re needed here
I think it’s wrong but
The things we fear
They tend to find us
But we’ll never leave you behind us

Wish I remembered what you taught me
Like I remember how you laughed
Should have heard when you were talking
The goodbye we should have had
Goodbye

You might be gone but
You’ll still be here
You might be gone but
You’re needed here
I think it’s wrong but
The things we fear
They tend to find us
But we’ll never leave you behind us
You may be sleeping now
In the dust
I’m sad you’re leaving now
If you must
But I wrote this to remind us
That we’ll never leave you behind us

Leave a Reply

