Minus One

The h’ors doeuvres
Have been served
And I’m
Still in my seat
Playing back
What I heard
When you
Said you would leave
Now and then
I pretend
It doesn’t hurt me
We were much more
Than friends
Till you
You deserted me

Baby you can call me
Minus one
And you can miss me with that
You think I’m out here
Having fun
But I’m just wishing you’re back
And you RSVP’d
With your ring
And I think
For once in my life I was wrong
Now I’m minus one

Now the music
Will play
And I
Won’t get up to dance
And I’m counting
The days
Since you
Changed all my plans
I am counting
The ways
That I
Must have done you wrong
And I’m seeing
Your face
And now
Realizing you’re gone

Baby you can call me
Minus one
And you can miss me with that
You think I’m out here
Having fun
But I’m just wishing you’re back
And you RSVP’d
With your ring
And I think
For once in my life I was wrong
Now I’m minus one

And now all that’s left for me
Is the clean-up
All the dirt in plain display
Trying to understand
What leads up
To you deciding to go away
Every soirée has to end
Sometime
We heard our music winding down
But this was meant to be
A lifetime
The table is empty
When you’re not around

Baby you can call me
Minus one
And you can miss me with that
You think I’m out here
Having fun
But I’m just wishing you’re back
And you RSVP’d
With your ring
And I think
For once in my life I was wrong
Now I’m minus one

Baby you can call me
Minus one
And you can miss me with that
I see that I was
Not the one
But I’ve still got your back
You could RSVP
With your ring
And I’d think
For once in my life I was wrong
But I’m still minus one

Leave a Reply

