“You Look Like Me”

I wonder if
You dream of me
In your heart
I’m hoping that
You’ve need of me
In your arms
I saw you and
I dreamed of you
Here with me
My heart, it might
Believe that you’re
Meant to be

That day we met
I heard you say,
“You look like me”
I wished that then
There was a chance
You would like me–
But not likely

Make up excuses
Just to see
Your face again
I’ll never get
To speak to you
And take your hand
I probably
Won’t ever even
Know your name
My problems seemed
Like nothing then–
That day you came,
And everything was changed

That day we met
I heard you say,
“You look like me”
I wished that then
There was a chance
You would like me–
But not likely

I know you were
Just being nice
So why obsess?
My heart has had
Enough of life
It needs to rest
So I won’t waste
Your precious time
With foolish dreams
And I won’t make
Reasons to cry–
Those I don’t need
They’re always here with me

That day we met
I heard you say,
“You look like me”
I wished that then
There was a chance
You would like me–
But we’re not meant to be
It’s not likely

Leave a Reply

