Half-Empty Table for Two

Half-empty table for two
Not a whole lot I can do
I sit here waiting for you
Half-empty table for two
I sit here waiting for

Better days in the shade
And someone to take this chair away
And what can I do with these plates?
And what can I do with this place?
What do I do with this space?
I’m here and I can’t see your face
I found out I could be replaced
And nothing in my world is safe
I will never be the same
I wonder if you’ll change your name

Half-empty table for two
Not a whole lot I can do
I sit here waiting for you
Half-empty table for two
I sit here waiting for

New love to find me
But love has bad timing
You still remind me
Of what was behind me
And why can’t I get over you?
Because I can’t get someone new
I’ve still got pairs of your shoes
And brushes for all your hairdos
And photos of you everywhere
And I still think this isn’t fair
I know that we both truly care
So why aren’t you here and not there?

Half-empty table for two
Not a whole lot I can do
I sit here waiting for you
Half-empty table for two
I sit here waiting for

Spring, summer, fall
Anniversaries
Graduation days
Flowers and candy
Holding hands
And a kiss
Making love
As you wish
Nothing I’d dare forget
Nothing I’d dare regret
So much that I miss
What did I do to this?
I didn’t give you my best

Half-empty table for two
Not a whole lot I can do
I sit here waiting for you
Half-empty table for two
I sit here waiting for
You
Half-empty table for two
I sit here waiting for
You
Nothing else that I can do
With this half-empty table for two

Leave a Reply

