Estranged, A Lament of Love

Love is for the brave,
They say
But I’m afraid
Of its chains
And afraid
Of the change
Nothing that’s great
Comes without
Many pains
Look at how easily
It’s estranged

I looked up
You were gone
As if I
Did you wrong
I was weak
But a man should be strong
Have you forgotten we
Made a promise to be
One of body
For the world to see?

When a woman is new
Look what love makes me do
Run and hide
Like a boy still in school
Like the force
Of the moon
Pulls me closer
And soon
I will act out the role
Of the fool

I have no great armor
For love, it is stronger
It cleaves eager hearts
Into two
It turns back to stab
Me, and grabs
What I have
Precious time, precious hope
Sacred memories
It acts without honor
Or mercy, it’s harder
Than stone
I’m alone
On my knees
It makes lovers glad
And it still makes me sad
For I know what was stolen
From me

Tears in the rain
As I patiently wait
For the lie to deceive me again
Ever the same
It awaits to betray
I cannot waste my dreams here again
So the fear, guilt and shame
Are all that here remain
As the altar I built is now ash
What can be gained
From a life lived this way
When the future is more of the past?

Love is for the brave,
They say
But I’m afraid
Of its chains
And afraid
Of the change
Nothing that’s great
Comes without
Many pains
Look at how easily
It’s estranged
I will not let it blind me again
I will war with it until the end
It’s a lie, not worth dying for and
What a dangerous trap
To fall in

Love is insane
Not a game to be played
It will empty you out
All the same
And then fill you with rage
Send you through every stage
It’s a tragedy
Waiting to happen
To you
I hate what it can do
I hate love and love
Hates me too
I hate love
And love
Hates me too

Leave a Reply

