Broken Promises

 

The winds of change
Can’t erode
This heart of stone
I’m in some pain
And I’m alone
Here, on my own
Last night
I dreamed of you
What can I do?
It’s not right
I didn’t mean to
Do this to you

You’ve abandoned me
Though we planned to be
Wouldn’t have to see
Broken promises
But the promise is
Still the same for me

Will I forget
The touch of your hand?
Don’t think I can
But my regret
Is I haven’t been
More of a man
You opened the door
I watched you walk through
What you’re looking for, I
Couldn’t give it to you

You’ve abandoned me
Though we planned to be
Wouldn’t have to see
Broken promises
But the promise is
Still the same for me

So why’d you disappear
When I need you here?
It’s so very clear
That I don’t have to fear
If I feel you near

In daydreams
You wiped my tears away
And smiled at me
Then decided to stay
What good are dreams
As if movie scenes
Just the same pretending
With a happy ending?
Even fools could see
That we’d never be
But it was worth the trying
Although I feel like dying

And I did
I died for you
In the end
What good did it do?

You’ve abandoned me
Though we planned to be
Wouldn’t have to see
Broken promises
But the promise is
Still the same for me

Leave a Reply

