I Miss My Little Boy

When I see the TV shows
You watched
Or look at the Legos
You dropped
I see that smile
And those big bright eyes
So much joy
In such a little size

Now you’ve been taken
And part of me’s destroyed
I miss my little boy
I’m still tripping
On those old toys
I miss my little boy

I try not to remember
Because it breaks me down again
Look at me, the great pretender
Trying to hide my frown again
She let me bathe you
One last time
Not even knowing that
I’d be saying goodbye

Now you’ve been taken
And part of me’s destroyed
I miss my little boy
I’m still tripping
On those old toys
I miss my little boy

I miss the comics
And the books we used to read
I’ll send it your way
If there’s anything you need
You’re my future
And somehow you’re my past
I’d give you the whole world
Just to hear you ask
I thought I’d write these words
To help me face the pain
But it doesn’t help the hurt
Some wounds always remain

Now you’ve been taken
And part of me’s destroyed
I miss my little boy
I still have memories
I’ll cherish and enjoy
But I still miss my little boy

Leave a Reply

