Conquer Me

I’d surrender
To feel its warmth upon my face
I’ve been through winter
I need some light to find my way
I’ve got some ways to go
But really I don’t know what is for me
I’d like to take it slow
But I’ve waited a long time to see

Love conquers all, they say
But will it look my way?
My white flag gladly waves
I want for love to conquer me
Love should be worth the wait
But will it look my way?
I want it here today
I want for love to conquer me

I dreamt I walked right past it
And never noticed it was there
A vision of us happy
You’d look at me as if you cared
But you’re too good for me
You’re more than I could ever hope to earn
But you’d be good to me
You’re everything for which I truly yearn

Love conquers all, they say
But will it look my way?
My white flag gladly waves
I want for love to conquer me
Love should be worth the wait
But will it look my way?
I want it here today
I want for love to conquer me

I don’t think we have met
And could I love again?
But the touch of your hand
My heart whispers, “I can.”
Love makes its promises
I try to honor them
And then she’s gone again
I’m sure I’m wrong again
But would I fall again?
And would I ever land?
Does someone understand?
Wish you would wait for me
Keep my heart safe for me
I’d hold you gratefully
As you’re embracing me
And then you’d say to me:
“You can have faith in me.
You’ll always have a place with me
No matter where we’ll be.
I’m yours and you’re with me, of course,
Our love will always be
All we’ll ever need, I’m sure, for all eternity.”

Love conquers all, they say
But will it look my way?
My white flag gladly waves
I want for love to conquer me
Love should be worth the wait
But will it look my way?
I want it here today
I want for love to conquer me

Leave a Reply

