My Last Life

On our summer breeze
Love is sweet for you and me
In everything I please you
And every day I need you
Loving you is treasure
Joyful beyond measure
I don’t want to see
A world where you can’t be
With you my life is better
Like water in the desert

I’ll spend my last sunset
With you
I’ll have no regrets
I choose
To spend my last life here
With you

In the winter storms you’re
The one who keeps me warmer
When you hold me closer
The time, it goes much slower
And our love grows stronger
Even with our faults or
Arguments we lost and
Even with the problems
With you life is simple
You give so much to live for

I’ll spend my last sunset
With you
I’ll have no regrets
I choose
To spend my last life here
With you

No matter the season
Or the reason
Your love, it keeps pleasing
You make me believe with
Just a little squeeze and
You make my heart keep on beating
I feel like I’m dreaming
And you’re all I’m seeking
I promise I’ll never be leaving
You
What I wouldn’t
Do

I’ll spend my last sunset
With you
I’ll have no regrets
I choose
To spend my last life here
With you
To spend my last life here
Will do

 

Commentary:

This song is not inspired by any real events, given that my wife left me fairly recently, but I had the idea for it, so I wrote it.  It must be nice to be loved this way.  I wish I’d loved her this way, but clearly I didn’t, or she’d still be here.

Moving right along…I see this song as a duet, perhaps with each person taking two of the lines in turn.  I’m sure someone more musically inclined could put it to music.  If anyone ever does put any of my songs to a tune, I’d love to hear it–this has always been about making the art for me, not recognition.  In the meantime, perhaps I need to learn to play an instrument…But thanks for reading.  Hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

