High Society

We’ll shop in the districts, baby
There’s no window shopping cart for me
I’ll drown you in kisses, maybe
I’ll make you see visions, probably
We’re driving my car, dangerous
My heart’s in a race it can’t complete
I’ll make you say, “Baby, yes!
I want you in first place here with me.”

We could live like kings and queens
Just imagine how perfect it would be
And I’ll be your princess,
Your lover, your mistress
High society
With a love like me
You know you’ll never need anything
And I’ll be like Christmas
Your gift wrapped in this dress
High society

I fell asleep on your heart last night
I’m reckless and passionate, it seems
There’s nothing in my life I like
But chasing after the latest things
But you’re my diamonds, baby
With you on my arm I’m sparkling
You might think I’m lying, maybe
But you are the gentleman for me

We could live like kings and queens
Just imagine how perfect it would be
And I’ll be your princess,
Your lover, your mistress
High society
With a love like me
You know you’ll never need anything
And I’ll be like Christmas
Your gift wrapped in this dress
High society

And I still want more
It’s like you opened my double doors
And what you’re waiting for
Is everything you deserved before
You and I will soar
‘Cause you’re the perfect score
I’m loving what’s in store
With you I’m never bored

We could live like kings and queens
Just imagine how perfect it would be
And I’ll be your princess,
Your lover, your mistress
High society
With a love like me
You know you’ll never need anything
And I’ll be like Christmas
Your gift wrapped in this dress
High society

 

Commentary:

I have no idea where this one came from, but it popped into my head so I wrote it down.  I was somewhat thinking of the seductive nature of a credit card, personified, but then it kind of took off from there.  I tried writing from the woman’s point of view this time, obviously a rich woman, unless perhaps that’s symbolic.  You could look at it that way.  I really wanted to write something new, since it felt like I hadn’t posted anything in awhile.  Well, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

